A Tasty Treat

I typically distance myself from the free plug.

But every once in a while, a place needs a public pat on the back.

For me, that place is Sheena’s Bakery and Deli.

I’ve worked and eaten in downtown Tulsa since 1987. No establishment has consistently given me a better return on the dollar.

Located on 5th Street on the Main Mall, Sheena’s is not much bigger than a walk-in closet. But what the take-out restaurant lacks in size, it makes up in personality.

Service is quick and cheery, and nobody ever forgets a face. Before I can finish ordering, my unsweetened iced tea is halfway poured.

I’ve never sampled breakfast. But at lunch, the sandwich meat, bold and fresh, is piled three fingers thick. Every sandwich comes with a pickle spear and orange wedge. Every meal comes with a free gourmet cookie baked on the premises.

Soup and chef salads are available, as well, the latter including the coveted two containers of dressing.

With half a sandwich, chips and a drink, I’m out of there for $6.50. Downtown, you can’t beat that anywhere.

One warning, though. When you’re not looking, the crew sometimes sneaks an extra free cookie into your bag.

I like that. I think you will, too.

2 thoughts on “A Tasty Treat

Leave a Reply

