Me the Flunkie

Twenty-seven years removed from an institution of higher learning, I no longer take many tests.

But I took one Friday — and failed miserably.

It was a 24-question quiz in the Christian Science Monitor about the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, ruled constitutional this week by the U.S. Supreme Court.

I answered 11 correctly, a whopping 45.8 percent.

Here’s how abysmal that is: I could have nailed three more questions and still received an “F.”

There’s no way of knowing for certain. But I’d venture to say I’m not the only person in this country who needs to brush up on civics.

When the high court made its 5-4 ruling this week, I liked what I saw. I witnessed people caring about this country, passionate about whatever fork it takes in the road. Within two hours of the story breaking, at least than 300 commenters had posted on my newspaper’s website. By the next day, that number had tripled.

Debate is good. But throwing verbal haymakers based purely on party affiliation is folly.

America has a big exam coming up.

Educate yourself on the issues. Vow, like me, to never be a flunkie again.

And vote your conscience in November.

Leave a Reply

