Aging gracefully

What I know about turning 50:

1. The elevator works. The plumbing leaks all the time.

2. I spend a lot of time thinking to myself: “She’s young enough to be my daughter.”

3. The term “old school” is a source of pride instead of consternation.

4. My friends and I carry on intelligent conversations about knee surgeries.

5. Seated on the sofa, I wear a blanket over my legs 12 months out of the year.

6. I haven’t been in a catcher’s squat since the Carter administration.

7. I start thinking about supper at 3 in the afternoon.

8. Loud noises irritate me.

9. Oreos and milk: breakfast of champions.

10. I’m in the best place I’ve ever been.

3 thoughts on “Aging gracefully

  1. I am not there yet, buddy. These are funny. Now I know what to look forward to. You don’t look a day over 49!

Leave a Reply

