The college experience

collegeSTILLWATER, Okla. —  While on a recruiting trip to Oklahoma State University with my daughter this week, I couldn’t stop thinking about an exhibit.

Tucked in the corner of the student union is a reminder that college is more than cutting class and getting sloshed.

Sponsored by the university’s counseling services, it is a board that invites students to anonymously post their secrets. Please read these examples and be aware that the kids you sent off to school may be hiding something.

Or they may just need someone to talk to.

–“Being a music major is way harder than anyone thinks…No one understands.”

–“I spent more time trying to hook up with my TA last semester to get a good grade than I did in the class.”

–“I want to trust myself and not rely on the people around me to pull me through my depression.”

–“I don’t want to be a college student, anymore.”

–“I flirt with girls in my class when it’s to my advantage, but ladies, I’m gaaayyy!”

–“I don’t know what I’m doing with my life. And that terrifies me.”

–“I’ve liked my crush for a while now, but we are just best friends.”

–“I’ve always wanted a pet monkey.”

–“The `college experience’ is nothing what I pictured. I don’t want to party. I wanted to be me and didn’t do Greek life. I miss home.”

–From a person who claims to have received help: “I was made fun of, lost a friend to suicide and was sexually abused as a kid. Now God has given me faith, and even if you don’t believe in God, get help. Your life is precious.”

2 thoughts on “The college experience

Leave a Reply

