A lethal needle

IMG_0197I witnessed my fifth execution this week at the Oklahoma State Penitentiary.

A man who raped and fatally stabbed an Oklahoma woman before killing men in Missouri and Tennessee said he planned to spend eternity in heaven.

I have my doubts.

A friend of one of the those slain had the most telling thoughts about the evening. It made no sense to her that a person who performed such heinous crimes was able to close his eyes and drift permanently off to sleep.

I tend to agree.

From the slayings to the convictions to the lethal injection, these families waited 13 years for justice. It’s my hope they now have it.

2 thoughts on “A lethal needle

  1. I have to comment on this essay. You knew I would, Rhett. Thank you for indulging me from time to time.
    I believe that the only choice about an eternity in heaven or hell is the choice we make to believe this:
    “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”
    John 3:16

    If this man truly believed in Jesus Christ as the Son of God and that He is the propitiation for our sins – before the man died – he is a forgiven sinner like me. I can quote chapters and verses to support this statement, too.

    But, If he was mocking God…then, he should have read this:
    “Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.”
    Galations 6:7

    I enjoy your essays, Rhett…your insights and observations are valid and useful and interesting.

Leave a Reply

