The (Not-So) Old Man and the Sea

IMG_0310I have frolicked in the ocean before and been clutched by its unforgiving undertow.

I have watched footprints disappear in the rising tide and marveled at clawed critters that scamper sideways across the sand. Saltwater has stung my lips and jellyfish my skin.

But last week, I truly met the sea and let her take my hand.

We went places in my mind I’d never been.

I saw the navy blues of waters at rest and the sapphires of those in motion, agitated by a steel whale. I gazed upon a distance forever out of reach. I was awed by the black of night, calmed by the sound of lapping waves, rocked to sleep by a gentle sway.

It is a richness I will carry to my grave.

Leave a Reply

