If I Must

I typically run from Facebook prompts like a Spaniard from a Pamplona bull. But blogs don’t write themselves, and occasionally one needs a crutch to begin walking.

So here are some things you may not know about me, in no particular order.

I have witnessed four executions conducted by the state of Oklahoma.

My childhood nickname was “Butch,” given me by beloved grandfather.

I am remarkably anal about mealtimes, especially lunch, which must start at 11:30 a.m.

I puked before every high school basketball game I played in, even upchucking once in a huddle.

In 1986, a car I was riding in was struck by lightning. The flash slightly burned my skin and short-circuited the vehicle’s instruments.

I have ridden in the back seat with a grown mountain lion.

My father was the best man at my wedding.

I was paddled at the halftime of an eighth-grade basketball game — for losing.

I am related to “Jumpin'” Joe Fulks, pioneer of the modern jump shot and member of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

I once took a leak beside Terry Bradshaw.

I eat about 10 milk-soaked Oreos for breakfast nearly every day.

I wore my retainer until I was almost 40.

To me, it’s not a meal unless it contains meat.

2 thoughts on “If I Must

Leave a Reply

