Getting hosed

I don’t come from a lot of money, and I don’t make a lot of money.

So parting with it gives me considerable heartache.

With my son working out of country, I took his car in for servicing last week.

I came out several hundred dollars poorer.

These dealerships have it down to a science. Once they know your warranty is expired, it’s like blood to a shark.

And pretty soon, it’s a feeding frenzy.

An oil change becomes a point inspection. A tire rotation becomes a tire alignment.

Hell, one guy told me my timing cover needed replacing. And in a voice as soothing as an undertaker’s, he quoted me the price: $2,700.

“We’ll need to drop the engine, and it’s 20 hours labor,” he said. “It would take about a week.”

That didn’t happen.

A quick trip to Google showed that the repair has been flagged as an engineering flaw by the manufacturer.

They don’t tell you that at the dealership.

They only tell you what you owe, which is always way too much.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Getting hosed

  1. Hey, bud. Sorry you got soaked at the mechanics. Ain’t that always the way?
    Today is the second anniversary of Omer’s death. I read your blog entry on him with all the comments. I swear what I wouldn’t give to spend five minutes talking to my buddy OG one more time. Just five more minutes…I thought it would be easier by now. But not so. Maybe one day.

    • Glad you checked in. Yes, Omer’s death remains fresh after two years. Incredibly sad, especially for the people closest to him. Take care. You’re a special lady.

Leave a Reply

